Letter to my father

Dear Dad,

I love you more than any other person in the world.

You know how to make us all laugh, even when we roll our eyes at your jokes the world would be an even darker place without them. Your whistling, however, could do with coming down a few octaves to prevent further damage to all our ears.

I’m not sure where to start with this… Its awesome how we have the same initials?

I guess I’ll start from the beginning. When we first met I was very taken with you (and your glasses) and it seems you were taken with me too, inviting me into the family as your own. It seems my “squeaky” shoes didn’t bother you too much as I became your shadow.  So you saved my life, something that seems to have become a regular occurance with the bone infection, the fish bone, university, illnesses, sucidal impulses… the list could go on. At my lowest points its your image I hold on to as I could not forgive myself for the pain I would cause you if I killed myself.

We have good fun together, its relaxed, its calm. You’re the only one I feel 100% safe with and you are the perfect role model. Capable of unconditional love, highly intellegent, forgiving, respectful, generous, adaptive… the list could go on but we dont want your head to be too big to fit through the door. The day is always brighter when we have our banter. You have seven children and yet you respect every single choice we each make (even when they are bad) and above all, you respect our space.

You have given me the best siblings in the world. It’s only now that I am older that I can fully appreciate just how amazing each and every one of them are and although some of us dont have the life styles you maybe would want you still support and love every one of us!

I see just how much you love mama. Alot of the time I feel like she doesn’t deserve you because of the way she treats you. It always seems to be you trying to make her happy and when you do something for her she will find something wrong with it. I dont know how you do it, but your resilience is amazing and I guess I dont see when you guys are alone together. She might be an angel and is just a show off!

We would be lucky to be a quater of the person you are. You’ve set the bar very high for any man that comes into our lives as well as teaching my brothers what a real man is.

Love you eternally,

M

Leave a Reply

